Awards & Competitions for Journalists

Please note: The inclusion of a resource in this list does not imply endorsement by the NewsGuild of New York. If you have any additions, suggestions, or edits to this list, please email us with the subject line "Journalist's Resource List Update - Awards."

Thomas M. Keenan NewsGuild of New York Service Award

Each year, the Guild recognizes a member who has done the most for the union and its members by bestowing the Thomas M. Keenan NewsGuild of New York Service Award.

CPJ International Press Freedom Awards

The International Press Freedom Awards honor courageous journalists from around the world. The awards include The Burton Benjamin Memorial Award, “given for a lifetime of distinguished achievement in the cause of press freedom.”

Dart Awards

"The Dart Awards are open to newspaper, magazine, online, radio, television, video and multimedia journalism from North America that goes beyond the ordinary in reporting on trauma."

David Nyhan Prize

"The Shorenstein Center annually awards the David Nyhan Prize for Political Journalism in honor of the late David Nyhan."

Deadline Club Awards

"The Annual Awards Dinner is held each spring to honor excellence in journalism from the previous calendar year across 31 categories."

Education Writers Association National Awards for Education Reporting

"The Education Writers Association’s National Awards for Education Reporting advance education journalism by recognizing the field’s very best efforts. The awards' goals are to encourage and inspire more and better education journalism and underscore the importance of excellent coverage and storytelling as a cornerstone of democracy and education. All media may participate in the awards. So whether your work appeared in print or online, on TV or the radio, or all of the above, we’re eager to recognize excellence on the education beat."

Frontline Club Awards

“The Frontline Club Awards seek to recognise new emerging talents and established names who have shown integrity, courage and independent spirit in their work.”

George Polk Awards

The Polk Awards are awarded by Long Island University. "This prestigious honor focuses on the intrepid, bold, and influential work of the reporters themselves, placing a premium on investigative work that is original, resourceful, and thought-provoking."

Goldsmith Awards

"The Goldsmith Awards Program, launched in 1991, has as its goal the encouragement of a more insightful and spirited public debate about government, politics and the press. The program includes the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, two book prizes, Fellowships and the Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism."

International Women's Media Foundation Awards

"The IWMF highlights the courageous work of women journalists and honors their contributions to press freedom around the world."

Michael Kelly Award

“The Michael Kelly Award honors a writer or editor whose work exemplifies the quality that animated Michael Kelly’s career.”

New America Award (SPJ)

"SPJ’s New America Award honors public service journalism that explores and exposes an issue of importance to immigrant or ethnic communities currently living in the United States."

National Press Photographers Association

“Renowned as “the contest designed for photojournalists by photojournalists,” and incorporating the many facets of the visual journalism industry, NPPA’s Best of Photojournalism competition annually attracts the most talented professionals in four divisions – still, video, multimedia and editing – collectively representing nearly 100 categories.”

One World Media Awards

"Established in 1988, the One World Media Awards recognize the best media coverage of the developing world, reflecting the social, political and cultural life of people around the globe. The awards highlight the unique role of journalists and filmmakers in bridging the divide between cultures worldwide and raising awareness of underreported issues and stories."

OPC Awards

“The Overseas Press Club Awards honor the finest international journalism each Spring.”

Picture of the Year International (POYi)

“Each year, the POYi competition honors the very best documentary photography, visual editing, and multimedia production.”

Pulitzer Prizes

Awarded each Spring, the Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism are awarded in fourteen categories by Columbia University. They honor "excellence in journalism" and "prize original reporting, good writing and, where appropriate, visual storytelling."

Robert F. Kennedy Book and Journalism Awards

The Robert F. Kennedy Book and Journalism Awards, which honor outstanding reporting on issues that reflect Robert Kennedy's concerns, including human rights, social justice, and the power of individual action in the U.S. and around the world.

Scripps Howard Awards

"The work honored by the Scripps Howard Awards is testimony to the proudest traditions of a free press, representing the best of the meaning of the Scripps Howard Foundation’s purpose of “Giving Light. Changing Lives.”

Selden Ring Award

"The Selden Ring Award underscores the critical importance of investigative journalism in today's society. The $50,000 prize recognizes published investigative reporting that has brought results. Full-time or freelance reporters working for a general circulation, United States newspaper, wire service, magazine or online publication are eligible for the $50,000 award. Editors, publishers, educators, journalism organizations, and others may make nominations."


Shahid Ethics Award

"The Anthony Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics recognizes outstanding commitment to ethical standards in the publication of important public journalism. The award honors journalists who work responsibly in the public interest despite many obstacles."

Sigma Delta Chi Awards for Excellence in Journalism (SPJ)

"The awards recognize the best in professional journalism in categories covering print, radio, television, newsletters, art/graphics, online and research. The contest is open to any work published or broadcast by a U.S. or international media outlet."

Society for News Design Competitions & Awards

"The competition invites entries from all magazines and general circulation newspapers — daily or non-daily, broadsheet or tabloid, traditional or alternative — published anywhere in the world, as well as syndicates and cooperatives providing material used in newspapers. The competition typically offers 19 categories, each with a number of subcategories."

Toner Prizes

"The Toner Prize for Excellence in National Political Reporting and the Toner Prize for Excellence in Local Political Reporting recognizes the best political reporting in any medium or on any platform—print, broadcast or online."

The World Press Photo Contests

“The annual photo contest rewards photographers for the best single exposure pictures contributing to the past year of visual journalism. The World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest rewards those storytellers producing the best new forms of visual journalism enabled by these changes.”