Guild election slates filled; ballots in the mail this week


Two slates of candidates for president of The NewsGuild of New York and 21 other officer and Executive Committee positions have been finalized. Ballots are being mailed to members this week.

Running for president are incumbent Peter Szekely and challenger Grant Glickson. 

Szekely, previously the local’s secretary-treasurer and earlier a Reuters journalist, became president a year ago when Bill O’Meara retired. Glickson, unit chair at The New York Times and 2nd vice president of the local, ran against O’Meara for the presidency in 2013.

Including the presidency, all 22 officer and board seats are up for election. Each is for a three-year term beginning Jan. 2, 2017.

Ballots, which will come with postage-paid business reply envelopes, will be in the mail by Thursday, Oct. 27. Completed ballots must be returned to the American Arbitration Association no later than 10 a.m. Friday, Nov. 18, 2016.

Anyone who does not receive a ballot should call AAA’s duplicate ballot request line at (800) 529-5218.

Names of the candidates on each slate, in the order they appear on the ballots, are as follows: 

Growing Stronger Coalition

President – Peter Szekely (incumbent)
Secretary-Treasurer – Anthony Napoli (incumbent)
Local Chairperson – Kathy Wilmore (Scholastic)
1st Vice President – Anna Pierdiluca (Consumer Reports)
2nd Vice President – Dan Grebler (Reuters)
3rd Vice President – Juan Carlos Rodriguez (Law360)
Executive Committee:
Joseph Ax (Reuters)
Stewart Bishop (Law360)
Emily Douglas (The Nation)
Zachary Goelman (Reuters)
Emilio Gonzalez (Consumer Reports)
Rich Handel (Consumer Reports)
Oscar Hernandez (El Diario)
Montasir Islam (Hudson News)
Dana Kass (Law360)
Rob Langeder (Standard & Poor’s)
Dan Neuburger (Time)
Marcus Payadue (The New York Times)
Eric Russ (Scholastic)
Hilary Russ (Reuters)
Kathy Santana (Hudson News)
Mike Wood (Reuters)

Members First Slate

President – Grant Glickson (The New York Times)
Secretary-Treasurer – Vincent Mallozzi (The New York Times)
Local Chairperson – Lan Lecour (Standard & Poor’s)
1st Vice President – Jeff Blyskal (Consumer Reports)
2nd Vice President – Tony Barone (Reuters)
3rd Vice President – Richard Perez-Pena (The New York Times)
Executive Committee:
Faiz Ahmed (Hudson News)
Bill Baker (The New York Times)
Daniel Balinovic (Reuters)
Ismat Bibi (Hudson News)
Andrew Dantonio (Reuters)
Norma Eversley (Standard & Poor’s)
Dan Gold (The New York Times)
Natalie Herron (The New York Times)
Andrew Hofstetter (Reuters)
Hilary Howard (The New York Times)
Mindy Matthews (The New York Times)
Angelica Rogers (The New York Times)
Bedel Saget (The New York Times)
Abe Sater (The New York Times)
Matt Seaton (The New York Times)
Nikita Stewart (The New York Times)

Go back

News Archive

Share this story